Your Real Estate Lawyers

Efficiency, entrepreneurial thinking and our clients success are our top priorities.

Erfahrungen & Bewertungen zu JASPER Rechtsanwälte

Arbitration proceedings

Within the permitted framework, arbitration proceedings are possible instead of ordinary court proceedings between parties.

Advice in international and national arbitration proceedings

Bilingual process preparation and process management

Design of effective and efficient arbitration clauses

Comprehensive advice in case of conflict & analysis of risk factors and opportunities

"Pros and cons" of arbitration proceedings/litigations

Arbitration proceedings can be faster, cheaper and (in any case) confidential for the parties compared to other proceedings. When drafting contracts, JR reviews whether an arbitration clause is appropriate and reasonable and conducts arbitration proceedings. We place particular emphasis on the careful review and formulation of such clauses in order to avoid subsequent disputes.

The use of arbitration clauses benefits from Dr. Jasper's many years of experience as a member of arbitration tribunals, but also as a chairman of arbitration proceedings (e.g. DIS, German Institute of Arbitration). The arbitration proceedings can be conducted in full not only in German but also in English. Here, the international experience of Dr. Jasper plays a significant role. Dr. Jasper has already been an assessor twice, a sole arbitrator once, and the chairman of an arbitral court twice. The subjects of the arbitration proceedings were construction law, claims for compensation, defects, stock corporation law and company acquisitions. Dr. Jasper's main areas of expertise are construction and real estate law, litigation and arbitration and out-of-court dispute resolution as mediator, moderator, conciliator and arbitrator.

What are arbitration proceedings and when do arbitral tribunals become active?

Arbitration is a dispute resolution instrument that makes use of a private, non-governmental body, the arbitration court. The task of the arbitration court is to apply the law and make a decision by means of an arbitral award. There are two procedural options, institutional arbitration and ad hoc arbitration.

In the institutional procedure, an already existing arbitration institution is consulted. The German Institution of Arbitration e.V. may be considered, for example (DIS), the International Court of Arbitration of the International Chamber of Commerce in Paris (ICC International Court of Arbitration), the International Court of Arbitration London (LCIA London Court of International Arbitration), the International Arbitral Centre of the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber (VIAC Vienna International Arbitration Centre), the International Commercial Arbitration Court at the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Russian Federation (MKAS), as well as many other institutions.

In ad hoc proceedings, the parties themselves, on the basis of a clause in the contract, provide for the establishment of an arbitration court, including its composition and administration of the proceedings. The arbitration court will only act if the parties have agreed to it in their contract. The arbitration agreement excludes legal recourse to the state courts. Such an arbitration agreement is not unusual among business persons, so that the court of arbitration is of great importance.

What is the composition of an rbitration court?

An arbitral court usually consists of three arbitrators. These are appointed by the arbitral institution or the respective parties, depending on the agreed upon procedure. The chosen arbitrators then appoint a third arbitrator as chairman. However, it is also possible to appoint two arbitrators or only one single arbitrator. This is considered especially from the point of view of efficiency. In some cases such a procedure is already prescribed by arbitration rules.

Is the arbitration procedure regulated y law and can the rules be deviated rom?

Yes, the ZPO (German civil process order) contains basic provisions on the admissibility and conduct of arbitration proceedings in §§ 1025-1066 ZPO. However, these are mainly dispositive, so that they only intervene if the parties have not considered certain points of regulation. They also include mandatory provisions, such as the right to be heard.
The UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules are applicable in international arbitration proceedings. The rules contained therein cover all aspects of arbitration proceedings.

Can an arbitral award be set aside?

Yes, German courts can set aside an arbitral award if the appointment of the arbitral tribunal, the proceedings of the arbitrators, the arbitration proceedings or the arbitral award was significantly flawed. However, there is no appeal or review body in the arbitration process, so that unpopular decisions cannot simply be set aside.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of arbitration proceedings?

Advantages:

Non-publicity of arbitration proceedings: The proceedings are not open to the public, so trade secrets and other confidential information do not become public or available to competitors. The arbitrators and parties are also subject to confidentiality rules.

Since the arbitrators are freely chosen, the parties can ensure that they are familiar with the applicable law and have sufficient experience. As a result, they regularly distinguish themselves by their professional expertise, which is far above average. This is of particular advantage in technically demanding industries, such as automotive, healthcare, telecommunications, but also construction and real estate.

Arbitral awards are enforceable in Germany and in most foreign countries. Due to the New York Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards of 1958, the enforcement of arbitral awards is in many countries easier than the enforcement of decisions of state courts.

Saving time and money: Arbitration proceedings have only one instance (no appeal and revision instance), so that the proceedings can be brought to a quick conclusion. In addition, the choice of language and venue can save costs, as translation and travel expenses may not be incurred.

Disadvantages:

It should be noted that, depending on the arbitral institution, the costs of arbitration may be higher than in state proceedings.

In some cases the parties waive their right to be heard and are limited to gross procedural violations in the context of possible complaints. Incorrect decisions can therefore no longer be corrected. The lack of an appeal and review body also reflects this danger.

Your experts in real estate law

Whether attorney, arbitrator, experts in construction, banking or corporate law: JASPER attorneys provide highly specialized legal advice. We look forward to your call under +49(0)211 492590 or by mail to mail@jasper-law.com.

Contact us

Ihre Immobilienanwälte

Effizienz, unternehmerisches Denken und der wirtschaftliche Erfolg unserer Mandanten stehen für uns an erster Stelle.

Erfahrungen & Bewertungen zu JASPER Rechtsanwälte

Schiedsverfahren

Im zugelassenen Rahmen sind Schiedsverfahren anstelle von ordentlichen Gerichtsverfahren zwischen Parteien möglich.

Beratung in internationalen und nationalen Schiedsverfahren

Bilinguale Verfahrensvorbereitung und Verfahrensführung

Gestaltung effektiver und wirksamer Schiedsverfahrensklauseln

Umfassende Beratung im Konfliktfall & Analyse von Risikofaktoren und Chancen

"Für und Wider" von Schiedsverfahren/Prozessen

Schiedsverfahren können schneller, kostengünstiger und für die Parteien (in jedem Fall) vertraulich sein im Vergleich zu anderen Verfahren. JR prüft bei der Erstellung von Verträgen, ob eine Schiedsverfahrensklausel angemessen und sinnvoll ist und betreibt Schiedsverfahren. Dabei legen wir besonderen Wert auf die sorgfältige Prüfung und Formulierung von derartigen Klauseln, um nachträgliche Auseinandersetzungen zu vermeiden.

Bei der Verwendung von Schiedsklauseln kommt die langjährige Erfahrung von Dr. Jasper als Mitglied von Schiedsgerichten, aber auch Vorsitzender von Schiedsverfahren (z.B. DIS, Deutsche Institut für Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit) zugute. Die Schiedsverfahren können nicht nur in deutscher, sondern auch in englischer Sprache vollständig durchgeführt werden. Hier spielt die internationale Erfahrung von Dr. Jasper eine besondere Rolle. Dr. Jasper war bereits zwei Mal Beisitzer, ein Mal Einzelschiedsrichter sowie zwei Mal Vorsitzender eines Schiedsgerichts. Gegenstand der Schiedsverfahren waren Baurecht, Vergütungsklagen, Mängel, Aktienrecht und Unternehmenskäufe. Seine fachlichen Schwerpunkte hat Dr. Jasper entsprechend im Bau- und Immobilienrecht, dem Prozess- und Schiedsverfahren und der außergerichtlichen Streitlösung als Mediator, Moderator, Schlichter und Schiedsrichter.

Fragen und Antworten zu Schiedsverfahren

Was sind Schiedsverfahren und wann werden Schiedsgerichte tätig?

Das Schiedsverfahren ist ein Streitbeilegungsinstrument, welches sich einer privaten, nicht staatlichen Instanz, dem Schiedsgericht, bedient. Aufgabe des Schiedsgerichtes ist es, das Recht anzuwenden und eine Entscheidung durch einen Schiedsspruch zu fällen. Es bestehen zwei Verfahrensmöglichkeiten, das institutionelle Schiedsverfahren und das ad hoc Schiedsverfahren.

Im Rahmen des institutionellen Verfahrens wird eine bereits existierende Schiedsinstitution in Anspruch genommen. In Betracht kommen z.B. die Deutsche Institution für Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit e.V. (DIS), der Internationale Schiedsgerichtshof der Internationalen Handelskammer in Paris (ICC International Court of Arbitration), der Internationale Schiedsgerichtshof London (LCIA London Court of International Arbitration), das Internationale Schiedsgericht der Wirtschaftskammer Österreich (VIAC Vienna International Arbitration Centre), das Internationale Wirtschaftsschiedsgericht bei der Industrie- und Handelskammer der Russischen Föderation (MKAS), so wie viele weitere Institutionen.

Beim ad hoc Verfahren sorgen die Beteiligten aufgrund einer Klausel im Vertrag selbst für die Einrichtung eines Schiedsgerichts, inklusive deren Besetzung und die Verwaltung des Verfahrens. Das Schiedsgericht wird nur tätig, wenn sich die Parteien im Rahmen ihres Vertrages darauf geeinigt haben. Durch die Schiedsvereinbarung wird der Rechtsweg zu den staatlichen Gerichten ausgeschlossen. Unter Kaufleuten ist eine solche Schiedsvereinbarung nicht unüblich, sodass dem Schiedsgericht eine hohe Bedeutung zukommt.

Wie ist die Besetzung eines Schiedsgerichts?

Ein Schiedsgericht besteht in der Regel aus drei Schiedsrichtern. Diese werden je nach vereinbartem Verfahren von der Schiedsinstitution oder den jeweiligen Beteiligten bestimmt. Die gewählten Schiedsrichter berufen dann einen dritten Schiedsrichter als Vorsitzenden. Es gibt aber auch die Möglichkeit des Einsatzes von zwei Schiedsrichtern oder nur einem Einzelschiedsrichter. Das kommt vor allem aus Effizienzgesichtspunkten in Betracht. Teilweise ist ein solches Vorgehen auch bereits durch Schiedsordnungen vorgesehen.

Ist das Schiedsverfahren gesetzlich geregelt und kann von den Regelungen abgewichen werden?

Ja, in der ZPO werden in den §§ 1025-1066 ZPO grundlegende Vorschriften über die Zulässigkeit und Durchführung eines Schiedsverfahrens geregelt. Diese sind allerdings überwiegend dispositiv, sodass sie nur eingreifen, wenn die Parteien bestimmte Regelungspunkte nicht berücksichtigt haben. Es sind daneben auch zwingende Vorschriften, wie z.B. das rechtliche Gehör, umfasst.
Im Rahmen von internationalen Schiedsverfahren ist die UNCITRAL-Schiedsverfahrensordnung anwendbar. Die darin enthaltenen Regelungen decken jegliche Schiedsverfahrensaspekte ab.

Kann ein Schiedsspruch aufgehoben werden?

Ja. Deutsche Gerichte können einen Schiedsspruch aufheben, wenn die Bestellung des Schiedsgerichts, das Verfahren der Schiedsrichter, das Schiedsverfahren oder der Schiedsspruch erheblich fehlerhaft war. Allerdings gibt es im Rahmen der Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit keine Berufungs- und Revisionsinstanz, sodass ungeliebte Entscheidungen nicht einfach aufgehoben werden können.

Was sind die Vor- und Nachteile von Schiedsverfahren?

Vorteile:

Nicht-Öffentlichkeit von Schiedsverfahren: Die Verfahren sind der Öffentlichkeit nicht zugänglich, sodass Betriebsgeheimnisse und andere vertrauliche Informationen nicht an die Öffentlichkeit oder an Konkurrenten gelangen. Auch die Schiedsrichter und Parteien unterliegen Vertraulichkeitsregelungen.

Da die Schiedsrichter frei wählbar sind, können die Parteien gewährleisten, dass diese sich in dem anzuwendenden Rechtsgebiet auskennen und ausreichende Erfahrung mitbringen. Dadurch zeichnen sie sich regelmäßig durch eine weit überdurchschnittliche berufliche Expertise aus. Das ist vor allem in technisch anspruchsvollen Branchen, wie Automotive, dem Gesundheitswesen, Telekommunikation aber auch dem Bau- und Immobiliengewerbe von erheblichem Vorteil.

Schiedssprüche sind in Deutschland und im überwiegenden Ausland vollstreckbar. Aufgrund des New Yorker Übereinkommens über die Anerkennung und Vollstreckung ausländischer Schiedssprüche von 1958 ist die Vollstreckung von Schiedssprüchen in vielen Ländern einfacher als die Vollstreckung von Entscheidungen staatlicher Gerichte.

Zeit- und kostensparend: Schiedsverfahren verfügen nur über eine Instanz (keine Berufungs- und Revisionsinstanz), sodass das Verfahren schnell zu einem Ende kommt. Darüber hinaus kann die Wahl von Verhandlungssprache und Verhandlungsort Kosten sparen, da Übersetzungs- und Reisekosten dann möglicherweise nicht anfallen.

Nachteile:

Es ist darauf zu achten, dass die Kosten eines Schiedsverfahrens, abhängig von der jeweiligen Schiedsinstitution, höher sein können als im staatlichen Verfahren.

Die Parteien verzichten zum Teil auf ihr rechtliches Gehör und sind im Rahmen von möglichen Beschwerden auf grobe Verfahrensverstöße begrenzt. Falsche Entscheidungen können dadurch nicht mehr korrigiert werden. Auch das Fehlen von Berufungs- und Revisionsinstanz spiegelt diese Gefahr wider.

Ihre Experten für Immobilienrecht

Ob Rechtsanwalt, Schlichter, Experte für Bau-, Banken- oder Gesellschaftsrecht: JASPER-Rechtsanwälte bietet Ihnen eine hochspezialisierte Rechtsberatung. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Anruf unter 0211 492590 oder per Post an mail@jasper-law.com.

Kontakt aufnehmen