Your Real Estate Lawyers

Efficiency, entrepreneurial thinking and our clients success are our top priorities.

Erfahrungen & Bewertungen zu JASPER Rechtsanwälte

Real estate agent

Real estate agents are the "hinges" of the real estate industry. They bring the parties together. This task is both challenging and lucrative. We support real estate agents or their clients in asserting their interests. Our expertise ranges from real estate transactions and the drafting of real estate agent agreements to any individual questions in the field of real estate agents law.

The JR consulting scope therefore includes the following topics, among others:

The JR consulting scope therefore includes the following topics, among others:

  • Advice for real estate agents or clients of real estate agents
  • Real estate agent contracts
  • Real estate agent only supplying information
  • Intermediary real estate agent
  • General mandate
  • Exclusive contract
  • Qualified exclusive contract
  • Contract design
  • Real estate agent´s fee, commission
  • Real estate agent´s services, performance-related
  • Real estate agent´s exposé
  • Liability and limitation of liability
  • real estate agents and developers regulation (MaBV)
  • Revocation

Complex real estate agent contracts

Real estate agents must pay attention to their legal safeguards. Clients of real estate agents must know what they can expect from them. JR advises both real estate agents and clients.

Real estate agent contracts can be very complex, especially when the real estate agent's services are linked to components of success. The exact, precise and in the end legally secure enforcement of such interests is the focus of our consulting.

Brief overview of real estate agent law

By means of a real estate agent agreement, the real estate agent undertakes to provide evidence and/or act as an intermediary. In case of success, the client commits himself to pay the real estate agent's commission (fee). The subject of such contracts can be real estate, commercial areas and apartments. The real estate agent law is defined in §§ 652 ff. BGB. However, since the legislator has only made a few regulations there concerning the real estate agent´s fee, the real estate agent law is to a considerable extent judicial law. Due to the dynamic development of real estate agent law as a result of new court decisions, legal advice is essential for a legally secure use.

Fragen und Antworten zum Maklerrecht

What is the difference between a broker (only supplying information) and an intermediary broker?

If broker and broker client conclude a contract on the performance of a proof broker's activity, the broker only owes the naming of interested parties and the possibility of bringing about the conclusion of a contract between broker client and an interested party. The broker's proof owed comprises a concrete object as well as the name and address of potential contractual partners. The actual brokerage of a contract conclusion is not part of the brokerage service owed.
This is different within the scope of the activity of a broker. The broker owes the facilitation of contract negotiations between broker client and potential contractual partner. Furthermore, he acts in the interest of the broker client and his wish to conclude a contract with the prospective client.
Which kind of brokerage is finally owed and when the broker is entitled to his brokerage fee depends on the wording of the brokerage contract. These should correspond to the interests of the parties in order to avoid later disputes. JR advises in order to ensure that the contract is legally sound.

Allgemeinauftrag, Alleinauftrag and Qualified Alleinauftrag. What is the difference and which order is the right one for me?

If the parties conclude a general agreement, the broker may or may not act. The broker's client may also engage other brokers or act on his own. If the broker client acts as an agent himself, no broker's commission is due. This commission is only due if the broker is causally involved in the conclusion of the contract. The general order is recommended if the property is in high demand, as there is always the possibility to avoid the broker's commission by acting as an agent.
For the broker such a general order is rather unpopular due to the uncertain broker's commission. For the broker this regularly means a race against time.

With the sole mandate, the commissioned broker acts exclusively. The broker's customer may also search for interested parties himself. The broker's commission is only due if the broker is causally involved in the conclusion of the contract. Exclusive commissions are regularly concluded with a term of three to six months. We have already reported on the effectiveness of an automatic extension of an exclusive contract in our JR-Blog. Due to the exclusivity of the brokerage contract, the chances of success are higher than with the general contract. The broker has a higher incentive to find an interested party in order to receive the broker's commission.

Finally, there is the qualified exclusive commission. Here, in addition to the already described exclusive contract, the broker's customer has an obligation to refer the matter to the broker. This means that he has to refer interested parties found on his own to the broker. This ensures that the broker receives his commission, but also that he definitely takes action. It is advisable to limit the qualified sole mandate to a concrete time in order to additionally motivate the broker. This type of contract is particularly useful if the broker's customer is under time pressure or the property is difficult to market.

Which type of contract is the right one for you and which legal particularities have to be taken into account in order to conclude a legally secure contract and to avoid later disputes, you will learn from a case-related consultation with JR.

Can a brokerage agreement be terminated?

That depends on the concretely concluded brokerage agreement. Contracts that are concluded for an indefinite period can be terminated at any time and without giving reasons.

With fixed-term contracts, termination is not so easy. In order to terminate a fixed-term contract, the person terminating the contract must either adhere to the pre-determined notice periods or give extraordinary notice. A so-called "good cause" is required for extraordinary termination. Whether such an important reason exists cannot be answered in a general way. In this respect, it is essential to consider the individual case and the relevant case law.

What does forfeiture mean in brokerage aw?

Forfeiture means that the broker is not entitled to his broker's commission despite having acted as a broker. In such a case, he has forfeited this commission due to considerable misconduct. When such misconduct leads to a loss of the entitlement to the broker's commission cannot be answered in a general way. In any case, a contractual breach of duty on the part of the broker is not sufficient for this. Case law additionally requires the serious breach of a fiduciary duty by the broker. This can be the case, for example, in the case of a breach of duties of disclosure or the performance of an inadmissible double brokerage.

JR has many years of experience in advising and representing brokers in order to prevent such breaches of duty, which can lead to forfeiture of the claim to the commission. JR also represents broker clients who are exposed to such breaches of duty and advises on the legal defense of unjustified brokerage claims.

Blog

JR follows the current case law on brokerage law and regularly publishes specialist articles on it, also on the JR-BLOG.

Your experts in real estate law

Whether attorney, arbitrator, experts in construction, banking or corporate law: JASPER attorneys provide highly specialized legal advice. We look forward to your call under +49(0)211 492590 or by mail to mail@jasper-law.com.

Contact us

Ihre Immobilienanwälte

Effizienz, unternehmerisches Denken und der wirtschaftliche Erfolg unserer Mandanten stehen für uns an erster Stelle.

Erfahrungen & Bewertungen zu JASPER Rechtsanwälte

Maklerrecht

Makler sind die „Scharniere“ der Immobilienwirtschaft. Sie bringen die Parteien zusammen. Diese Aufgabe ist herausfordernd und lukrativ zugleich. Wir unterstützen Makler oder deren Kunden bei der Durchsetzung ihrer Interessen. Unsere Expertise reicht von Immobilientransaktionen und der Gestaltung von Maklerverträgen über jegliche Einzelfragen im Bereich des Maklerrechts.

Das JR-Beratungsspektrum umfasst daher unter anderem folgenden Themen:

Das JR-Beratungsspektrum umfasst daher unter anderem folgenden Themen:

  • Beratung von Makler oder Maklerkunde
  • Maklerverträge
  • Nachweismakler
  • Vermittlungsmakler
  • Allgemeinauftrag
  • Alleinauftrag
  • Qualifizierter Alleinauftrag
  • Vertragsgestaltung
  • Maklerlohn, Courtage, Provision
  • Maklerleistung, Erfolgsabhängigkeit
  • Maklerexposé
  • Haftung und Haftungsbegrenzung
  • Makler- und Bauträgerverordnung (MaBV)
  • Widerruf

Komplexe Maklerverträge

Makler müssen auf ihre rechtlichen Absicherungen achten. Kunden von Maklern müssen wissen, was sie vom Makler erwarten dürfen. JR berät sowohl auf Makler- als auch auf Kundenseite.

Maklerverträge können sehr komplex sein, insbesondere wenn die Leistungen der Makler an Erfolgskomponenten gekoppelt sind. Die genaue, präzise und am Ende auch rechtssichere Durchsetzung solcher Interessen stehen im Vordergrund unserer Beratung.

Kurzer Überblick über das Maklerrecht

Durch einen Maklervertrag verpflichtet sich der Makler zu einer Nachweis- und/oder Vermittlungstätigkeit. Der Maklerkunde verpflichtet sich im Erfolgsfall zur Zahlung der Maklerprovision (Maklercourtage). Gegenstand solcher Verträge können Grundstücke, Gewerbeflächen und Wohnungen sein. Das Maklerrecht ist in den §§ 652 ff. BGB geregelt. Da der Gesetzgeber dort allerdings lediglich einige Regelungen zum Maklerlohn getroffen hat, ist das Maklerrecht zu einem erheblichen Teil Richterrecht. Wegen der dynamischen Entwicklung des Maklerrechts durch neue Gerichtsentscheidungen, ist eine rechtliche Beratung für eine rechtssichere Nutzung unerlässlich.

Fragen und Antworten zum Maklerrecht

Was unterscheidet einen Nachweismakler von einem Vermittlungsmakler?

Schließen Makler und Maklerkunde einen Vertrag über die Leistung einer Nachweistätigkeit des Maklers, so schuldet der Makler lediglich die Benennung von Interessenten und die Möglichkeit der Herbeiführung eines Vertragsabschlusses zwischen Maklerkunde und einem Interessenten. Der geschuldete Maklernachweis umfasst ein konkretes Objekt, sowie Name und Anschrift potentieller Vertragspartner. Die tatsächliche Vermittlung eines Vertragsabschlusses ist nicht Teil der geschuldeten Maklerleistung.
Anders ist das im Rahmen der Tätigkeit eines Vermittlungsmaklers. Dieser schuldet die Ermöglichung von Vertragsverhandlungen zwischen Maklerkunde und potentiellem Vertragspartner. Darüber hinaus wirkt er im Interesse des Maklerkunden und dessen Wunsch nach einem Vertragsabschluss auf den Interessenten ein.
Welche Art von Maklertätigkeit letztendlich geschuldet ist und wann der Makler einen Anspruch auf sein Maklerhonorar hat, hängt also von den Formulierungen im Maklervertrag ab. Diese sollten den Interessen der Parteien entsprechen, um spätere Streitigkeiten zu verhindern. JR berät zwecks rechtssicherer Vertragsgestaltung.

Allgemeinauftrag, Alleinauftrag und Qualifizierter Alleinauftrag. Worin besteht der Unterschied und welcher Auftrag ist für mich der richtige?

Schließen die Parteien einen Allgemeinauftrag ab, kann der Makler tätig werden, muss es aber nicht. Der Maklerkunde darf zusätzlich andere Makler einschalten oder auch selbst tätig werden. Bei der Eigenvermittlung durch den Maklerkunden wird keine Maklerprovision fällig. Diese wird nur dann fällig, wenn der Makler kausal am Vertragsschluss beteiligt ist. Der Allgemeinauftrag ist empfehlenswert, wenn es sich um ein Objekt mit hoher Nachfrage handelt, da immer die Möglichkeit besteht die Maklerprovision durch Eigenvermittlung zu umgehen.
Für den Makler ist ein solcher Allgemeinauftrag aufgrund der unsicheren Maklerprovision eher unbeliebt. Für den Makler bedeutet dies regelmäßig ein Rennen gegen die Zeit.

Bei dem Alleinauftrag wird der beauftragte Makler exklusiv tätig. Der Maklerkunde darf daneben selbst nach Interessenten suchen. Die Maklerprovision wird nur fällig, wenn der Makler kausal am Vertragsschluss beteiligt ist. Alleinaufträge werden regelmäßig mit einer Laufzeit von drei bis sechs Monaten abgeschlossen. Über die Wirksamkeit einer automatischen Verlängerung eines Alleinauftrages haben wir bereits in unserem JR-Blog berichtet. Aufgrund der Exklusivität des Maklerauftrages sind die Aussichten auf Erfolg höher als beim Allgemeinauftrag. Der Makler hat einen höheren Anreiz einen Interessenten zu finden, um die Maklerprovision zu erhalten.

Letztlich gibt es noch den Qualifizierten Alleinauftrag. Hier kommt zum bereits dargestellten Alleinauftrag hinzu, dass der Maklerkunde eine Verweisungspflicht an den Makler hat. Eigens gefundene Interessenten muss er somit an den Makler verweisen. Dadurch wird sichergestellt, dass der Makler seine Provision erhält, aber auch definitiv tätig wird. Es ist empfehlenswert, den Qualifizierten Alleinauftrag auf eine konkrete Zeit zu beschränken, um den Makler zusätzlich zu motivieren. Dieser Vertrag kommt vor allem dann in Betracht, wenn der Maklerkunde unter Zeitdruck steht oder das Objekt nur schwer zu vermarkten ist.

Welcher Vertragstyp für Sie der richtige ist und auf welche rechtlichen Besonderheiten zu achten ist, um einen rechtssicheren Vertrag zu schließen und spätere Streitigkeiten zu verhindern, erfahren Sie durch eine fallbezogene Beratung von JR.

Kann ein Maklervertrag gekündigt werden?

Das kommt auf den konkret abgeschlossenen Maklervertrag an. Verträge, die auf unbefristete Zeit geschlossen werden, können zu jedem Zeitpunkt und ohne Angabe von Gründen gekündigt werden.

Bei befristeten Verträgen ist eine Kündigung nicht so einfach. Um einen befristeten Vertrag zu kündigen, muss der Kündigende entweder die vorab festgelegten Kündigungsfristen einhalten oder aber außerordentlich kündigen. Für eine außerordentliche Kündigung ist ein sogenannter "wichtiger Grund" notwendig. Ob ein solcher wichtiger Grund vorliegt, kann nicht pauschal beantwortet werden. Diesbezüglich ist die Betrachtung des Einzelfalls sowie der einschlägigen Rechtsprechung unabdingbar.

Was bedeutet Verwirkung im Maklerrecht?

Verwirkung bedeutet, dass der Makler trotz geleisteter Maklertätigkeit keinen Anspruch auf seine Maklerprovision hat. Er hat diese in einem solchen Fall aufgrund erheblichen Fehlverhaltens verwirkt. Wann ein solches Fehlverhalten zu einem Verlust des Anspruchs auf die Maklerprovision führt, kann nicht pauschal beantwortet werden. Jedenfalls reicht eine vertragliche Pflichtverletzung des Maklers dafür nicht aus. Die Rechtsprechung fordert zusätzlich die schwerwiegende Verletzung einer Treuepflicht durch den Makler. Das kann z.B. vorliegen bei der Verletzung von Aufklärungspflichten oder der Durchführung einer unzulässigen Doppelmaklertätigkeit.

JR hat langjährige Erfahrung in der Beratung und Vertretung von Maklern, um derartige Pflichtverletzungen, die zu einem Verwirken des Anspruchs auf die Provision führen können, zu verhindern. Ebenfalls vertritt JR Maklerkunden, die solchen Pflichtverletzungen ausgesetzt sind und berät im Rahmen der rechtlichen Abwehr unberechtigter Makleransprüche.

Blog

JR verfolgt die aktuelle Rechtsprechung zum Maklerrecht und veröffentlicht regelmäßig Fachbeiträge dazu, auch auf dem JR-BLOG.

Ihre Experten für Immobilienrecht

Ob Rechtsanwalt, Schlichter, Experte für Bau-, Banken- oder Gesellschaftsrecht: JASPER-Rechtsanwälte bietet Ihnen eine hochspezialisierte Rechtsberatung. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Anruf unter 0211 492590 oder per Post an mail@jasper-law.com.

Kontakt aufnehmen