Your Real Estate Lawyers

Efficiency, entrepreneurial thinking and our clients success are our top priorities.

Erfahrungen & Bewertungen zu JASPER Rechtsanwälte

Residential property law

The residential property law (WEG) is often underestimated, although nearly each citizen is either a member of a residential property owners' association (community of the residential property owners, GdWE) or knows someone, who is member there. According to the WEG, residential and partial ownership are characterized by an indissoluble connection of co-ownership shares in the sense of §§ 1008 ff. BGB on the jointly owned property (i.e. of land and certain parts of buildings) with special ownership of rooms and by compulsory membership of GdWE.

Subjects and key aspects:

Subjects and key aspects:

  • Ownership of apartments and the permanent residential right
  • jointly owned property
  • separate ownership
  • declaration of division
  • resolutions in a meeting of the apartment owners
  • WEG-Administrator

Community of residential property owners

Both natural persons and legal entities (as well as a majority of persons such as communities of heirs or communities of fractions) can thus be owners of apartments and parts of apartments. It is precisely the fact that membership of the GdWE is compulsory and that residential and partial ownership can only be transferred with this membership or vice versa that often leads to uncertainties and conflicts in practice. Due to their membership structure, GdWE can be difficult to deal with (even among themselves). Everyone wants to have a say and make their own contribution. This is often difficult to coordinate. Since real estate or parts of real estate are also an essential part of the contract and this is designed for the long term, disputes within GdWE often run like a red thread through its life cycle. A different construction for this is not legally possible, since the German Civil Code does not allow ownership of real building parts (§§ 93, 94 BGB). The housing law regulated in the German Civil Code (§ 1093 BGB) does not fulfill the wishes for one's own apartment because of its non-saleability, non-inheritability and limitation to housing purposes and is excluded for commercial use. Therefore, all interested parties who wish to acquire a residential and partial ownership are referred to the WEG.

Terms and Definitions

The WEG uses special terms and definitions that one should know as a member of a WEG. To this now:

Ownership of an apartment

Pursuant to the provisions of this Act, title to an apartment [Wohnungseigentum] may be created in respect of apartments, and title to units [Teileigentum] may be created in respect of non-residential areas of a building (§ 1 Abs. 1 WEG).

Separate Ownership

Title to an apartment comprises the separate ownership [Sondereigentum] of an apartment together with a co-ownership share [Miteigentumsanteil] of the jointly owned property [gemeinschaftliches Eigentum] of which it is an integral part. (§ 1 Abs. 2 WEG).

Partial Ownership

Title to a unit is the separate ownership of non-residential areas of a building together with a co-ownership share of the jointly owned property of which it is an integral part. (§ 1 Abs. 3 WEG).

Jointly owned property

Jointly owned property within the meaning of this Act shall be the plot of land as well as those parts, facilities and installations of the building which are neither separately owned property [Sondereigentum] nor property owned by a third party.

Separation

Separate ownership should only be granted where the apartments or other areas are self-contained (§ 3 Abs. 2 Satz 1 WEG). The grant and cancellation of separate ownership shall be subject to agreement between the parties about the occurrence of the change of rights and the registration of such change in the Land Register [Grundbuch]. (§ 4 Abs. 1 WEG).

FAQ on Residential property law

I have trouble within my Residential Property. What are my rights and obligations and where are they laid down?

When a community of apartments owners is founded in accordance with the WEG, the notary public who records the agreement draws up a so-called declaration of partition with joint rules. This declaration of division more or less reflects the Basic Law, i.e. the basic rules within the WEG. It contains agreements between the owners of the apartments regarding the jointly owned property or its essential parts and all questions related to it (§ 10 Abs. 3 WEG).

I would like to have the agreement of the apartment owners (also called community rules) changed. Do I have a claim to this?

Such a claim may exist in principle. This is the case (and must be examined in detail in each individual case) if it seems unreasonable for the owner to have to adhere to this agreement for serious reasons, taking all circumstances into account. Here it depends crucially on the individual case. According to case law, a claim does not exist in principle if, for example, rooms are vacant or the planned extension has been omitted or there is even a need for space due to the need for care, but this risk is obviously only of a temporary nature.

Can I have a resolution of the ownership of apartments changed and revoked?

Amendments and revocations of resolutions are possible by majority resolution within the framework of proper administration, taking into account existing interests that require protection. A resolution of the majority is also required for this. In some cases a so-called unanimous resolution is also required. In this case, the consent of all apartment owners is required.

Am I liable as an apartment owner?

In principle, as a apartment owner, I am liable for legal or legally justified liabilities in addition to the Community of Apartment Owners (GdWE) also solely according to the ratio of my co-ownership shares in the property. The establishment of a joint and several liability by majority resolution is void, i.e. this rule cannot be waived.

As an apartment owner, can I do what I want with my apartment?

Every apartment owner can in principle treat his part of the building in special ownership as he wishes, in particular inhabit, rent, lease or use it in any other way and exclude others from influence (§ 13 para. 1 WEG). In this case, the protection of ownership applies to a property in sole ownership. However, this right also entails obligations for the apartment owner, for example, to maintain the parts of the building that are in separate ownership and to use the parts of the jointly owned property only in such a way that none of the other apartment owners suffers any disadvantage beyond the non-binding level of disadvantage that would result from living together in an orderly manner (§ 14 No. 1 WEG).

Your experts in real estate law

Whether attorney, arbitrator, experts in construction, banking or corporate law: JASPER attorneys provide highly specialized legal advice. We look forward to your call under +49(0)211 492590 or by mail to mail@jasper-law.com.

Contact us

Ihre Immobilienanwälte

Effizienz, unternehmerisches Denken und der wirtschaftliche Erfolg unserer Mandanten stehen für uns an erster Stelle.

Erfahrungen & Bewertungen zu JASPER Rechtsanwälte

WEG-Recht

Das Wohnungseigentumsgesetz (WEG) wird oft unterschätzt, obwohl fast jeder Bürger entweder selbst Mitglied einer Wohnungseigentümergemeinschaft (Gemeinschaft der Wohnungseigentümer, GdWE) ist oder jemanden kennt, der dort Mitglied ist. Nach dem WEG sind das Wohnungs- und das Teileigentum gekennzeichnet durch eine unauflösliche Verbindung von Miteigentumsanteilen im Sinne der §§ 1008 ff. BGB am Gemeinschaftseigentum (also an Grundstücken und bestimmten Gebäudeteilen) mit Sondereigentum an Räumen und durch eine zwingende Mitgliedschaft in der GdWE.

Themen und Schwerpunkte

Themen und Schwerpunkte

  • Gemeinschaftseigentum
  • Gründung einer WEG
  • Sondereingentum
  • Teilungserklärung
  • Versammlungen der Miteigentümer
  • WEG-Verwalter

Gemeinschaft der Wohnungseigentümer

Sowohl natürliche als auch juristische Personen (wie auch eine Personenmehrheit wie Erbengemeinschaften oder Bruchteilsgemeinschaften) können Rechtsinhaber also Wohnungs- und Teileigentümer sein. Gerade die Tatsache, dass die Mitgliedschaft an der GdWE zwingend ist und das Wohnungs- und Teileigentum nur mit dieser Mitgliedschaft übertragen werden kann oder umgekehrt, führt in der Praxis oft zu Unsicherheiten und Konflikten. GdWE können aufgrund ihrer Mitgliederstruktur schwierig im Umgang (auch untereinander) sein. Jeder will mitbestimmen und seinen Beitrag leisten. Das lässt sich oft schwer koordinieren. Da auch hier Immobilien oder Teile von Immobilien wesentlicher Vertragsbestandteil sind und dies auf langfristige Sicht angelegt wird, ziehen sich oft Streitigkeiten innerhalb der GdWE wie ein roter Faden durch ihren Lebenszyklus. Eine andere Konstruktion hierzu ist rechtlich nicht möglich, da das Bürgerliche Gesetzbuch Eigentum an realen Gebäudeteilen nicht zulässt (§§ 93, 94 BGB). Das im Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuch geregelte Wohnungsrecht (§ 1093 BGB) erfüllt wegen seiner Unveräußerlichkeit, Unvererblichkeit und Beschränkung auf Wohnungszwecke nicht die Wünsche nach einer eigenen Wohnung und scheidet für eine gewerbliche Nutzung aus. Daher sind alle Interessenten, die ein Wohnungs- und Teileigentum erwerben möchten, auf das WEG verwiesen.

Begriffe und Definitionen

Das WEG verwendet spezielle Begriffe und Definitionen, die man als Mitglied einer WEG kennen sollte. Dazu nun:

Wohnungseigentum

Nach dem WEG kann an Wohnungen das Wohnungseigentum, an nicht zu Wohnzwecken dienenden Räumen eines Gebäudes das Teileigentum begründet werden (§ 1 Abs. 1 WEG).

Sondereigentum

Wohnungseigentum ist das Sondereigentum an einer Wohnung in Verbindung mit dem Miteigentumsanteil an dem gemeinschaftlichen Eigentum, zu dem es gehört (§ 1 Abs. 2 WEG).

Teileigentum

Teileigentum ist das Sondereigentum an nicht zu Wohnzwecken dienenden Räumen eines Gebäudes in Verbindung mit dem Miteigentumsanteil an dem gemeinschaftlichen Eigentum, zu dem es gehört (§ 1 Abs. 3 WEG).

Gemeinschaftliches Eigentum

Gemeinschaftliches Eigentum im Sinne dieses Gesetzes sind das Grundstück sowie die Teile, Anlage und Einrichtung des Gebäudes, die nicht im Sondereigentum oder im Eigentum eines Dritten stehen (§ 1 Abs. 5 WEG).

Abgeschlossenheit

Sondereigentum soll nur eingeräumt werden, wenn die Wohnung oder sonstige Räume in sich abgeschlossen sind (§ 3 Abs. 2 Satz 1 WEG). Zur Einräumung und zur Aufhebung des Sondereigentums ist die Einigung der Beteiligten über den Eintritt der Rechtsänderung und der Eintragung in das Grundbuch erforderlich (§ 4 Abs. 1 WEG).

Fragen und Antworten zum WEG-Recht

Ich habe Ärger innerhalb meiner Wohnungseigentümergemeinschaft. Was sind meine Rechte und Pflichten und wo sind sie niedergelegt?

Bei Gründung einer Wohnungseigentümergemeinschaft (GdWE) nach dem WEG wird von dem beurkundenden Notar eine sogenannte Teilungserklärung mit Gemeinschaftsordnung errichtet. Diese Teilungserklärung spiegelt mehr oder weniger das Grundgesetz, also die Grundregeln innerhalb der WEG, wider. Darin sind Vereinbarungen der Wohnungseigentümer zueinander Bezug auf das gemeinschaftliche Grundstück oder seine wesentlichen Bestandteile und alle Fragen, die damit zusammenhängen, enthalten (§ 10 Abs. 3 WEG).

Ich möchte die Vereinbarung der Wohnungseigentümer (auch Gemeinschaftsordnung genannt) ändern lassen. Habe ich darauf einen Anspruch?

Ein solcher Anspruch kann grundsätzlich bestehen. Das ist dann der Fall (und zwar im Einzelfall genau zu prüfen), wenn es für den Eigentümer aus schwerwiegenden Gründen unter Berücksichtigung aller Umstände unbillig erscheint, an dieser Vereinbarung festhalten zu müssen. Hier kommt es entscheidend auf den Einzelfall an. Ein Anspruch besteht nach der Rechtsprechung grundsätzlich dann nicht, wenn z.B. Räume leer stehen oder der geplante Ausbau unterlassen wurde oder gar Raumbedarf wegen Pflegebedürftigkeit besteht, dieses Risiko allerdings offensichtlich nur vorübergehender Art ist.

Kann ich einen Beschluss der Wohnungseigentümer ändern und aufheben lassen?

Änderungen und Aufhebungen von Beschlüssen der GdWE sind durch Mehrheitsbeschluss im Rahmen ordnungsgemäßer Verwaltung unter Beachtung schutzwilliger Bestandsinteressen möglich. Auch hierzu bedarf es eines Beschlusses der Mehrheit. In manchen Fällen ist auch ein sogenannter einstimmiger Beschluss erforderlich. Hier ist die Zustimmung aller Wohnungseigentümer notwendig.

Hafte ich als Wohnungseigentümer?

Grundsätzlich hafte ich als Wohnungseigentümer für gesetzliche oder rechtsgeschäftliche begründete Verbindlichkeiten neben der Gemeinschaft der Wohnungseigentümer (GdWE) auch allein nach dem Verhältnis meiner Miteigentumsanteile am Grundstück. Die Begründung einer Gesamtschuld durch Mehrheitsbeschluss ist nichtig, d.h. diese Regel kann nicht abbedungen werden.

Kann ich als Wohnungseigentümer mit meiner Wohnung machen was ich will?

Jeder Wohnungseigentümer kann grundsätzlich mit seinem im Sondereigentum stehenden Gebäudeteil nach Belieben verfahren, insbesondere diese bewohnen, vermieten, verpachten und sonstiger Weise nutzen und andere von Einwirkungen ausschließen (§ 13 Abs. 1 WEG). Hier gilt der Eigentumsschutz so wie bei einer Immobilie im Alleineigentum. Aus diesem Recht ergeben sich aber auch Pflichten für den Wohnungseigentümer, beispielsweise die in einem Sondereigentum stehenden Gebäudeteile in Stand zu halten und die Teile des gemeinschaftlichen Eigentums nur in solcher Weise zu nutzen, dass dadurch keinem der anderen Wohnungseigentümer über das bei einem geordneten Zusammenleben unverbindliche Maß an Nachteil erwächst (§ 14 Nr. 1 WEG).

Ihre Experten für Immobilienrecht

Ob Rechtsanwalt, Schlichter, Experte für Bau-, Banken- oder Gesellschaftsrecht: JASPER-Rechtsanwälte bietet Ihnen eine hochspezialisierte Rechtsberatung. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Anruf unter 0211 492590 oder per Post an mail@jasper-law.com.

Kontakt aufnehmen